WORDS ARE IMPORTANT

 

WORDS ARE IMPORTANT

 

Bloggers know words are important.

 

We think how our words affect other people.  We think before we speak (usually).  We think about how our readers will react – especially our friends.  We delight in the flow of words, pencil scratching against paper, cursor racing across the screen, the nuances of our mother tongue. 

 

Do we ever think that our words and actions are the building blocks of our own lives?  Do I construct my own inner life with the words I choose?  I came across an interesting passage in the Daily Word that got me started thinking about this:

 

“With expressions of integrity, compassion, creativity, and courage, I help create a world that reflects these qualities.  Creativity flows as I maintain the integrity of what I say with like-minded actions.  I choose and use generous, positive, and constructive language.  And as I do, I build within myself a generous, positive, constructive consciousness.”February 2, 2007

 

I’m not proselytizing – I am still on my journey, still searching.  I gather insights when I can and don’t mind sharing bits and pieces, if they’re welcomed.

 

We are so lucky to have our Windows Live Spaces here so we can play with words, maybe even occasionally write something noble, helpful and life-changing, comforting or cheering.  If my words today have not been “generous, positive and constructive,” maybe I’ll do better next week.

 

“Sign up for alerts” on my main page.  E-mail alerts are free.

  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to WORDS ARE IMPORTANT

  1. Shannon says:

    How correct you are!
    Words are the bloodline to the soul.
     
    …and I’m enjoying your blogs!  Great work!
    ~S

  2. Monica says:

    sign up for alerts ??

  3. Cheryl says:

    Great entry…A lot of thought went into this.  Words can heal or do great damage.  All the misery of this world is caused by unhappy people and what they say.

  4. Linda says:

    Ok signed up for alerts.  Isn’t spaces great?  Well, when its working…
    Hugs,
    ~Linda~

  5. Shari says:

    I LOVE this entry.  Hi, came by way of Sunflower’s space, and I’m glad I did.   Feel free to stop by my space anytime!

  6. ♥ Aimee says:

    sign up for alerts?
    :o) smiles are free and contagious…so pass one right now to the people you love and those you don’t…soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  7. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    Y.T.
     
    Enjoyed your blog tremendously, and I did think it was uplifting, and thoughful, which yours tend to be, whether we agree or not, on particular issues.  HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY! to you, as well.  I try not to misuse words, or be ugly with them.  Sometimes truth can come off sounding harsh,  but even then, it is meant to help and not destroy what is valuable and important.  Regarding your comments, which are always appreciated, by the way, I do have a few thought to share.   When I finish my remembrance blogs, I will add the thoughts on the current situation in Haiti,  with a few questions of my own.  Isn’t it funny how the more we look into something the more questions we have?  Looking forward to more of your thoughts and comments.  Have a great rest of your week!
     
    Beth 
     
     

  8. Rambling says:

    Did you happen to go see the picture I posted for you?

  9. Le Chat Noir says:

    Hi,
     
    Thanks for dropping by.  I’ve enjoyed reading some of your posts here and I’d like to visit again. I really like this post and you are right; I think it’s true that bloggers enjoy the chance to play with words. I also liked your post re TV (which I hardly watch these days) and your views on guns. Very interesting ideas.
     
    You asked why the black cat? Well, I am a cat lover although I don’t have a black cat myself (Max is a tabby!).  As I’ve been learning Italian on and off for several years, when I started to create my space, I thought about Il Gatto Nero (which is Italian for the black cat) and then the French term. I did a google search and found my profile pic which is a poster by Theophile Alexandre Steinlen and was created to advertise an event at the Chat Noir, which was a Paris Cabaret and voila! Not much rational thought about it, but I like the poster anyway.
     
    Hope you are having a great week,
     
    Kerrie

  10. nobody says:

    AMEN TO THAT! Our written words are a reflection of ourselves. It’s sort of like a "fingerprint" to a person’s personality. Everyone writes in his or her own unique way. I don’t write much about myself or about what goes on in my day. My blog is about helping people find all the good things the internet has to offer.

  11. Michiko's says:

    Yes indeed! words are important in our life that I have learnt form people how they react when became upset or happier….
    I was believing too much of what our friend was saying.that I should say it very CAREFULLY to in my head before open my big mouth, ha ha ha
    otherthing is when I have problems that I wrote about it on the blog there we don’t know each other and never really seen but people write on comments in kind words are very TOUCHING AND THANKFUL.
    this is a good post,
    Have a nice day,
    Michiko

  12. Sandra says:

    God’s word is vital to our spiritual well being ,and how we present our selves to others does matter …
    thanks for your recent comment .It was the car ignition key ,which also has the remote car door key on it ,that my husband locked in the boot /trunk of the car ! The burning in the dishwasher  was from the element overheating & burning out ,I ordered a new one online for delivery next week 🙂
    hope that you have a week of blessing
     
    sandra

  13. -Sunflower- says:

    I agree, words are important. It’s true what they say, the pen is mightier than the sword. I, like Carole, try not to offend but to inform, inspire and bring laughter. Hope you’re having a wonderful day.
     

  14. Rambling says:

    Oh.,  yes, I have checked permissions in edit mode but I will go look again.  Don’t know about ads..not sure what that was or meant.

  15. Rambling says:

    I will add the new hummingbird feeder to my album up on top in the blog.  You will need to click on it and make the pucture bigger.  Go to Droll Yankee website and look for hummingbird feeders…there you will see what I mean.  I ordered from them, but I found them in a pet food store too.  Meanehile I will add the picture to my album if you don’t feel like going to the website.IF you start feeding them be sure you change the nectar every 4 days or so.  I make mine..4 cups of water to 1 cup sugar.  Bring to a boil..take off heat..store and refrigerate in glass jars. Let me go fetch the picture.

  16. Rambling says:

    words ARE important.  I am very conscious of what I write as you are also.  A good way to be and respectful of others. My intent is not to offend..that’s one thing… but I keep my blog a general..well, rambling on, about my day.  A soapbox appearance occasionally.

Leave a comment