MAKE YOUR OWN PROFILE IMAGE

 

MAKE YOUR OWN PROFILE IMAGE

 

Getting tired of that default bowling ball head you have for a Profile image in MSN Windows Live Spaces?  Can’t find the right photo? 

 

It’s easy to draw your own Profile image.  Why not draw a Profile image that is bright, colorful, distinguished, eye-catching, and unmistakable?    Something that is “you.” 

 
  

 
 

Are you one of those who believes there is a “correct” way to draw?  If you are doubtful whether you can draw, let me point out that if you are drawing to express yourself or enjoy yourself and then share, you are doing it right, and you are creating art.

 

So go for it!

 

Step one:  Open Windows Paint.

 

To open Windows Paint, click Start / Programs / Accessories / Paint.

 

Step two:  Make a tiny page. 

 

On your Space’s main page, the dimensions for your Profile image are 100 by 100 pixels.  To make an image this tiny in Windows Paint, click File / New for a new page.  Then click Image / Attributes.  Set width at 100; set height at 100; check “pixels;” click OK. 

 

Step three:  Color your image. 

 

In the Color Box, click on the color you want.  In the Tool Box click the Fill-With-Color Tool.  (It looks like paint spilling from a paint bucket.)  Click on your tiny page.  It should fill with the color you have selected.

 

Hint:  If you don’t see the toolbar with colors, click View / Color Box.  If you don’t see the toolbar with tools, click View / Tool Box.

 

Step four:  Add a border.

 

Add a line border with the Line or Rectangle Tool, after clicking a different color.  The Line Tool looks like a short diagonal line.  The Rectangle Tool looks like a rectangle with a solid border.  (It’s not the rectangle with the dashed border which is the Select Tool.)  Click the Line or Rectangle Tool and then click and drag on the page. 

 

Hint:  Ctrl+Z is a shortcut for Undo.

 

Hint:  Draw with lines thick enough so your design won’t wash out when it is condensed to make a Comment or a Friend image.

 

Step five:  Add some lettering.

 

Add lettering with the Text Tool.  This tool looks like “A.”  Click the Text Tool, then click and drag to open a box where you will put lettering.  A menu appears called “Fonts.”  Pick your lettering font and size.  Pick a different color in the Color Box, if desired.  Write something short and meaningful, and when finished, click outside the box, but still on your page.

 
 

 
  

Hint:  If you don’t see the Fonts menu, click View / Text Toolbar.

 

Hint:  The Magnifier Tool won’t work with the Text Tool (sigh).

 

Hint:  Click the bottom icon in the Tool Box to make the lettering box background transparent.

 

Step six:  Save it.

 

Save your masterpiece.  Click File / Save As.  Then in the Save As Type menu, select “Graphics Interchange Format (*.gif)” to make a low KB file.  Enter a File Name.  Click Save.  You will see a message about color – colors may be adjusted slightly at this point as you continue with “Yes.”

 

Step seven:  Upload it.

 

Upload your image to your Profile just as you would a photo.

 

Step eight:  Smile.

 

Congratulate yourself on your new Web presence.  Hip-hip-hooray!  Let me know if you try this, and how it goes.

 
 
 
 

(These directions may have to be adjusted for differing versions of Microsoft Windows.)

 

“Sign up for alerts” on my main page.  E-mail alerts are free.

 

-2007-

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to MAKE YOUR OWN PROFILE IMAGE

  1. macy says:

    is this how to make your own youtube profile picture or a twitter like i wanna do lps

  2. Mariah Denes says:

    what’s up????????????? that is boring i don’t wan’t to know how to make a profile i want to make a profile!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. دلوعهــ says:

    thank you very much ………for everything….my best friend..^^
    bye bye

  4. Millie says:

    Thanks for the heads up……..I believe I told you I was blonde. LOL   Now I am wondering for whom it was meant.  I am starting a new space called Millie’s Work Shop.   Will be a while before I put a link to it on my space.  It will consist of the 3 courses of Paint Shop Pro that I took.  Probably no one will be interested but it will give me some place to store my lessons.   ttfn, Millie

  5. Lauren says:

    hey there…nice space… interesting entry…stay in touch
    lozza

  6. Terri says:

    Hi there.
    And thank you for visting my blog.

  7. Jodi says:

    Awww, I’m sorry you have a slow connection and can’t look at all my photos. Perhaps someday you can get a faster connection? My first computer only had 512 MB total of hard drive space on it and I used ‘dial up’ for my internet connection back then. It was slower than molasses, but it was my first computer (a Dell) and it was a hard working little machine. I litterally worked it to death! lol. I love the new Dell we have now and am greatful to be on DSL.

  8. KatSoup says:

    hi I think this is my first time here.  I have been snooping through your stuff and I lOVE your space.  I  enjoyed the magazine read, what fun! I hope we can be friends.

  9. Rusty says:

       Hi Sweety:
           Gee thanks for the tip, I will have to try this sometime. Very informative blog. Hope all is well with you and that you are enjoying the summer. It has been hot here in Windosr where I live but yesterday was just right, not too hot. Today it is supposed to get hotter. Kung fooey! to that. I added you as a friend also. Take care and God bless……………..Rusty  ((HUGS))
    http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e89/dustyrusty909/For%20Spacers/2five.jpg

  10. Yang says:

    I followed the link you showed to the song you created, but i could not download it, it didn’t work, i will try again. Thanks anyway!
    Bless
    Tina

  11. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    Truly,
     
    Appreciate your blog and detailed directions!  It is something I have thought about and will have to try to do, but my mind isn’t focussing well today so I will wait for the right day to come back and get the directions to start experimenting.  Hope you have a blessed and glorious weekend, in your garden and out and about!  Love and hugs!
     
    Beth

  12. Michiko's says:

    Thank you for visits and leaving your nice comments, This is a great information for bloger’s.
    But I honestly it’s complicated for me. I’m sorry…
    Have a wonderful weekend,
    Michiko 
     

  13. Le Chat Noir says:

    Hi Truly,
     
    Thanks for sharing these tips..although there are quite a few artists in my family, I have it very firmly planted in my head that I am not an artist (thanks to my education where the nuns who taught me totally destroyed my interest in painting despite everything my grandmother who was a very talented painter, taught me!) That’s why my profile is ahem…borrowed! Fortunately one of those same nuns blessed and encouraged my interest in music so all was not lost! Nice to read this blog…I must try this out and learn to ‘play’ a little.
     
    The differences between where I live and you live..yes, I guess it seems hard to believe. I am so impressed that you checked out the latitude…I’ve been meaning to do this to see what the comparison is with my cyber friends in the US and Canada in particular. One of the main attractions of being part of the Spaces community is the opportunity to learn about what life is like elsewhere. Sure, I can check out an encyclopaedia any day but it will only give me facts and figures, and not the personal experience of people who live in places I can only dream of visiting.
     
    I’m glad it’s summer there for you now (well, provided you like summer…I know some people just don’t and prefer winter). I enjoy reading all the summer inspired blogs here and they keep me going. It’s the shortest day of the year for me (and the longest for people who live in the Northern Hemisphere) so it’s all uphill from here at least for me. Mind you, I don’t expect to see any dramatic difference tomorrow.
     
    Hope you are enjoying summer there..
     
    Kerrie

  14. Beth says:

    I really hate that bowling ball so I am going to experiment with this.  Thanks!!

  15. Millie says:

    I, like Jodie, play in Paint Shop Pro….I took on-line lessons and love making my own sigs.  The one in my Post Office slot is one I made from a tube.  They can be an addiction.  The only time I was in a play was wayyyyyyyy back in High School.  My talents do not extend to performing arts (can’t carry a tune in a bucket). Will let you know when I find out where my talents lay (lie?)….Evidently, I shouldn’t try writing LOL.  Have invited you to my friends list.  ttfn, Millie

  16. Pau says:

    Hi, thanks for your visit and your nice comments.  No not all Canadians are bilingual, only a small percentage.  The french speaking Canadians live mostly in Quebec, that’s where I was born, and moved to Ontario later, I sent my children to french school here, and they sent their children to french school too.  So this family is bilingual.  You always have the most interesting and educational blogs.  Take good care.  Pauline

  17. Jodi says:

    I use to play in ‘windows paint’ quite a bit but now I play in Paint Shop Pro and am quiet an addicted fan of this program! lol. I have used cute ‘tubes’ such as butterflies, frogs, bees, flowers etc as my profile image and have even drawn out a few of my own. Anyways, your directions in helping others to create their own images are great! It’s fun to learn how to play and get creative in these programs.  :)

  18. Linda says:

    I will just have to try this when I can find a few minutes to play.  Thanks for the tips. 
    Hugs,
    ~Linda~

  19. Rambling says:

    I’m afraid you’re rarely behind the counter.  This is a high end store and when they come in you just wait till they need you and then you ask how you can help…and then you go behind the counter,  :-(      Did not think of Birkies!!!  Thanks!

  20. Rambling says:

    That is a good service to us..thank you.  

Leave a Reply

